YMCA Camp Demo

A few weeks ago I had attended one of the Midland Vales fight practices. Someone there had mentioned that there was a demo in a few weeks on a Friday during the day. I knew many people probably worked at that time. Since I didn’t, I offered to help out. The night before, I looked up the address on my phone to see how long it would take me to get there. That way, I could figure out what time I needed to get up and could plan my morning accordingly. My phone surprisingly said that it only took a half an hour.

I got up the next day and did the things one normally does in the morning. I was almost ready to go, when I looked up the directions on my phone and it now said it took over an hour to get there! I would certainly be late. I felt bad, but there wasn’t a lot that I could really do other than send a Facebook message to the organizer to let him know that I’d be late. When I got there, it looked like things were starting to wrap up. The fighters were walking among the kids and the kids were touching their armor and asking them questions. There was quite a stir when I showed up. I was the only female and many of the girls in the audience seemed very excited that a woman was going to fight with the guys. There was only one big melee left. I did pretty well for myself and the campers were divided for some other activity.

I chatted with a few of the guys there and discovered that I wasn’t the only one late due to a GPS malfunction. I asked where I could find water and was pointed in the direction of a pavilion filled with kids. I took off my helmet and gauntlets, placed my shield and weapons on a picnic table, and got some water. The kids asked to pick up, touch, and play with my things. I figured since I was so late, that I could at least do some good things by letting the kids touch my gear. Eventually, one of them didn’t follow the directions I had given the kids about the save handling of my gear, so I took it all back and started on my way to my car. One boy asked if I wanted help. I told him I would love some, but that he needed permission from an adult. He asked a counselor who looked like he was an older teenager. The both of them helped me to carry my gear to my car, asking questions the whole way. They joked that they were my squires. I laughed inwardly at how, while a period-accurate notion, it was all wrong with the SCA’s way of doing things. I thanked them for their help and they returned to their activities.

Afterwards, the YMCA camp fed us and let us use their pool. I drove home feeling like I was doing a good deed just by being female, fighting, and showing up to the demo. It felt good to be looked up to for doing what I do, but it also made me sad because it shouldn’t matter.

~ by Gunnvor on November 6, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
