Northern Region War Camp

I am very backed up with blog entries and this event was the reason why. I struggled for a long time to figure out what to write and what not to write. I had taken a year off of fighting and had been fighting sporadically for a number of years before that. I think I may finally take the time and write a blog on the reason for this and what I am trying to do to get back into the game, but that’s an entry in and of itself.

As many of you may have already read, I have left House Serpentius and have severed my squire relationship with Duke Darius. This was my first melee event back in armor. Who could I fight with? I have no desire to get into another squire relationship right away or join another household. Most of my friends fight with the 3rd division of the Northern Army and thus with Serpentius. My problems were solved when I was at the Bennington fight practice and Sir Alex offered to let me fight with him and “his boys”. I knew a few of them and liked the ones that I knew. It seemed like a good idea and a good fit for me.
I had initially planned on camping at Northern Region, but decided at the last minute not to. I was glad that I did because I heard that they had not only bad thunderstorms, but a tornado watch. I drove up that Saturday in high spirits, looking forward to enjoying a melee again. As I found Sir Alex, he told me that Sir Kettil was in charge. I knew who he was because I had seen him around, but I don’t think I officially had met him until that day. However, I’m not sure if Sir Kettil realized he was in charge of the group, whether his leadership style is very loose, or if he didn’t realize that I was part of the group, but I felt a bit out of place. That feeling grew tenfold when I realized that they fought with the 3rd division of the Northern Army and Serpentius as well! How did I not already know this!?

I had committed to fighting with them for Northern Region War Camp, but, as much as I liked them, I knew I wouldn’t do so in the future. I went out there amid some surprised looks from some of the folks in Serpentius. I tried to ignore them and focus on the fighting. The first thing we did was an interesting town battle scenario where one side attacks with unlimited resurrections and the other side defends with only one life. The idea was to time the battle and see who took the longer time to defend and shorter time to attack.

I had brought my pole arm out. It seemed we’d be a unit of pole arms, because if I recall correctly, there was nobody there with sword and shield! We really didn’t stick together as a unit, but maybe that’s just because we were so small. So instead, I just focused on killing the other side. I did quite well, killing two before I died. When we switched sides, I went out there, eager to be on the attacking end of the game. I was killed very quickly. As I walked to resurrection point and back, my leg armor felt funny. I realized like my knee armor was now protecting my upper shins. In hindsight, it probably could have been fixed with duct tape, but it seemed like a good reason to quit, so I did. I armored down and drove the 2.5 hours home.

~ by Gunnvor on November 6, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
