Taking a Break

Not long after the reign ended, I announced on Facebook that I needed to take a break from the SCA for awhile. I had been doing a lot of self-work and was doing really well, except at SCA events. I originally thought it might be because of one person, but it turned out that wasn’t the case. I had no idea what my problem was.  I decided to take some time off to figure things out.

It only took a month or two to start missing it. But it seemed like every time I felt like I wanted to start up again, something would happen that would prevent it. Everything from me planning to hit a fight practice and finding out that I had already had something planned that day to having a disagreement with a good SCA friend, but things kept happening.

I still don’t think I’m ready to return, though my mundane life is going amazingly well. I just received an email notifying me of a comment on this blog from someone who said I was kind of their heroine. I didn’t think I was worthy, but I realized that I had just stopped writing here without any indication as to why, so I decided to write  this post trying to explain what’s going on.

I just got notification that a good friend of mine would be getting a writ at one event and being elevated at another, so I hope to attend at least one of the two events, but my primary goal will be to show up to support my friend rather than to fight or do anything else.

I still expect to be back in armor when I’m ready. I am surprised that I’m still not ready yet. I had only expected to take a short break. And no, I don’t yet know when I’ll be ready, but I still feel like I’ll know when I am. I know that’s pretty vague, but I really can’t explain it better than that.

~ by Gunnvor on January 20, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
