Midland Vales Fight Practice 8/25/15

I attended the Midland Vales fight practice.  It was the first time I’ve fought since Pennsic and the first fight practice that I had attended in months.  They had a theme for this practice.  It was initially supposed to be two-weapons, but pole weapons were added at the last minute.

I started fighting with my pole arm.  The first thing I realized was that either I was really rusty, or I wasn’t as good as I thought I was.  I was killed more often than I killed for everybody I fought with a pole arm.  I also felt like my movement was exceedingly slow.  I’m not sure if it’s just because I’m rusty or if something else was going on.

Then the two-weapons came out.  I fought two people using two-swords.  I found that I did better with two swords.  I think it’s just because of two things.  Most people who use two swords will strike blows with their dominant hand 3/4 of the time.  I no longer have a dominant hand, per se.  As a result, I go back and forth between the two hands.  My right has a weakness because of my shoulder issues while my left has a weakness because I’m less accurate.  I suppose if I work on both of those issues, I’ll get significantly better!

Afterwards, I took off my armor and lent it to someone who was interested in fighting.  She was about half my size in almost every respect.  I guess it shows just how versatile my armor is that it was able to fit her!  It was a good practice and I had a good time, though I wish I could have done better.

~ by Gunnvor on August 28, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
