Rusted Woodlands Fight Practice 1/8/15

I attended a Rusted Woodlands fight practice. At the time, I thought it was the closest practice to where I lived because it was less than an hour away.

My first fight was Arn. Again I’m not sure why, but I really wanted to fight as a righty for this practice, so I did. I was able to take Arn’s leg the first thing. Eventually he recovered and killed me. I think he won most of our fights, actually.

Next I fought Rolf pole arm against pole arm. I did reasonably well, but I also believe he was rather new to it, so it makes sense that I would do better. After a few passes, he started picking up on some of the things I was doing and countering my moves. It was nice to fight pole arm again. I guess it’s counter-intuitive, but I always enjoyed the pole arm as a singles weapon!

Next they set up a Birka-style bear pit, to prepare for Birka. I can’t remember who I fought and when, but one thing I do remember is that I actually killed my squire brother Ionnes. I was very excited because I have never killed him before (that I remember) and that actually meant to me that I was improving. I got so excited that I was jumping up and down and ended up jumping out of the bear pit and killed myself! Lol! It was worth it though.

I’m not sure if it’s because I’m fighting righty again or if something happened in my brain that made me approach fighting differently, but it really seems like I did much better in this practice than I have in a long time. I was pleased with how things went. Unfortunately, I had to leave early because I had to work early the next day, so I didn’t get to fight as much as I wanted or even fight all the people I wanted to fight.

~ by Gunnvor on January 9, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
