I’m Back

It’s funny how life works. I find that there are often occurrences in life that tend to lead me towards a certain path. Call it fate, call it God, call it coincidence, but I find things tend to fall into place sometimes. Just like I find myself facing similar sets of circumstances in life until I learn my lesson from them.

What does any of this have to do with me returning to fighting? A few sets of circumstances have come across my path which have guaranteed my return to fighting. I think I have mentioned that I have moved recently. A local friend was trying to start a fight practice and asked me to look into having it at one of the schools that I work at. Everything worked out and the practices will be starting soon. I figured that being the contact for the practice, I should be there. And if I should be there, I may as well fight.

The other circumstance is the fact that I am now squired to the Prince of the East Kingdom. I have admittedly been a bad squire recently and haven’t fought or even spoken to Omega since Pennsic. I hadn’t known he was planning to win Crown Tournament. I honestly didn’t even know who was fighting in it. All of a sudden a good friend contacted me to extend his congratulations and everything changed. I remembered my oath from when I was squired and was ashamed of myself for not taking it more seriously. To be fair, life got in the way until just the past two months. My job at the time did not give me the time or the money to attend events and fight practices. Even so, I still felt like I could have done more.

So I am back in the game. It is unlikely I will succeed in fulfilling my 1,000 fights by the end of next March. I did the math and it’s probably not possible that I’ll get a chance to fight that many new people between now and then. I do plan to try and keep going until I at least get to 1,000. I figure with all of the events I will be at in the next year, I may be able to get most of the 1,000 fights completed. I plan to begin attending fighting practices and events again soon.

“Real discipline is an expression of respect for life and for yourself.”

~ by Gunnvor on November 3, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
