Real Life Issues

I have realized that it’s not that I want to give up fighting that I haven’t felt like attending practice in a while.  It’s just that it’s taking me longer to get acclimated to my new place and new jobs than usual.  I am still unpacking my things at my new apartment and I seem to always playing catch-up at work.  For those of you who don’t know, I am working at two catholic schools.  I am used to teaching in public schools. In public schools, I usually taught 6 classes per day with a 40 minute prep period daily.  A prep period allows me to input grades and prepare all of my lessons.  So, a typical week would usually include me teaching 30 classes with 5 prep periods.  During that time I was usually able to get all of my planning and grading done at work.  This year, my one job requires me to teach 19 classes over three days with 1 prep period.  The other job requires me to teach 12 classes with two 20 minute preps (the equivalent of 1 prep period).  So essentially, I now have 31 classes with 2 preps.  I am also used to teaching a smaller grade range.  Usually, I’ll only teach 3-5 grades, so I’ll only have 3-5 lessons to plan for.  Now I’m teaching Pre-K-8 (10 grades) and some lesson plans cannot be shared between schools (one school offers recorders for grades 4-6 and the other does not).  Most of my classes are (surprisingly) not much smaller than public school classes. Needless to say, I have found myself taking a lot of grading home, which is why I have been unable to get everything unpacked at my new apartment.

Then there’s acclimating to my new job culture.  Between the two schools, I have four concerts to prepare for, one musical, and I will eventually have to lead the singing at mass (up front, at a podium, with a microphone).  For those of you who don’t know, I am not Catholic, nor was I raised Catholic.  Some of the interim songs are not written down (such as the Halleluiah [sp?] or the Holy Holy) so I need to attend enough masses to get what they sound like. And there’s the culture in general.  One of my schools has kids that are VERY well-behaved and I love it there.  The other school has kids that are close to public school levels of misbehavior. I actually had to ask one of my coworkers how to “cross” myself (“Is it left to right or right to left?”). They pray before faculty meetings, professional development days, etc.  The kids pray in the morning and a few other times throughout the day. I’m still getting used to the fact that I feel like I *should* include God in my lessons whereas in public schools I had to make sure to keep God OUT of my lessons. It’s just different. Some parents are VERY interested in their child’s schooling.  Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s GREAT that parents are interested!  But there is a point when a parent will get TOO interested and it becomes a hinderance to their child’s schooling.

Anyway, I do plan to return to fighting.  But it may take longer than I would like if I have to keep taking grading home every day. I’m hoping that in a few more weeks, I’ll get into more of a rhythm at work and will be able to have more free time to get what I need to done at home so I can actually get out for fight practices.

~ by Gunnvor on October 10, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
