Accountability for the Week of 2/24/14-3/2/14

It has been probably close to a month since I have last posted.  I have not been to a fighting event or a fight practice since Birka due to monetary reasons.  I am still unemployed and my unemployment benefits have run out.  I DID follow my workout program for a little while until my body ended up protesting in a big way.  My knee and hip joints hurt from my weight from running.  I experienced sharp shooting pains in my right shoulder blade extending up to my neck.  So I stopped and took a break for a few weeks to heal up.  I decided that I will need to lose weight before I will do anything more vigorous.  Previously, I never really cared much about the number on the scale.  I more cared about how I look.  Now, the number on the scale matters.  It matters in the amount of pressure that I put onto my joints. So I started walking since that would wreak less havoc on my joints.  I hope to start doing pell work again next week. I will be taking a break form any kind of strength training until I weigh less and it doesn’t mess up my joints as much.

I also am starting on a new eating plan.  On a recommendation from my sister, I’m going to start eating a paleo diet.  I am currently preparing for it in stages.  Having so little money, I couldn’t just throw out my food.  By the end of the week, I’ll be done eating all of my wheat products.  I have found that eating highly processed wheat products actually affects my mood and my weight.  The one day I took a break and made Swedish Meatballs, I dropped 3lbs which came back when I went back to finishing off my bread and pasta.  Next, I will finish off the rest of the grains: rice, quinoa, rice noodles, and rice crackers.  After that, beans, legumes, and potatoes that aren’t sweet potatoes.  Finally, it’ll be milk, cheeses, and non-paleo sweeteners.   It will also be tough to eat paleo on a budget, but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it!

Also, it took longer than I would have liked, but most of my personal issues are finally starting to settle down.  I also had a few interviews this week, so I am hoping I will be able to work soon.  Fingers crossed, anyway!

Monday: Walked 3.77 miles
Tuesday: Walked 2.08 miles
Wednesday: Walked 2.05 miles
Thursday: Walked 2.25 miles
Friday: It was too cold to walk (negative numbers with wind chill that was even colder)
Saturday: I don’t anticipate walking, but if I do, I’ll record it here.
Sunday: I don’t anticipate walking, but if I do, I’ll record it here.

Image

~ by Gunnvor on February 28, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
