Accountability 1/13/14-1/19/14

This week I started training again in earnest.  I stopped following the workout I had posted, so I’m just going to outline what I did each day and how I did with it.

MONDAY
Running: 5 minute warm-up, alternating 1 minute of jogging with 1.5 minutes of walking for 20 minutes, 5 minute cool-down.  I went 1.68 miles in 30 minutes.
Strength: Dumbbell squats 5 sets of 8 reps at 20lbs
Dumbbell push presses 5 sets of 8 reps at 10lbs
Dumbbell high pulls 5 sets of 8 reps at 10lbs
Plank to reach and twist 2 sets of 10 reps per side
Side planks 2 sets of 10 reps per side
Medicine ball chops 2 sets of 20 reps at 6lbs
Pell: Practiced onside shots to thrusts (mostly face thrusts).  I did mostly slow-work due to the time of day and the soreness of my muscles from my strength training.

TUESDAY:
Cardio/Strength: I was trying to find some easy cardio for myself on YouTube.  What I found instead was a number of easy strength exercises that did get my breathing a heart rate up enough to call it cardio.  Here’s what was included in the 20-minute video: 12 lunges, 12 squats, 36 mountain climbers, 12 squats, 12 jumping squats, 12 squats, 12 skip-ups, 12 squats, 12 180 degree jumps, 12 squats, 12 push-ups (I had to do knee push-ups), 12 squats,  12 burpees (I had to do them like squat thrusts without the push-ups), 12 squats, 36 bicycles, 12 squats,  12 side jumps, 12 squats, 12 sit-ups, 12 squats, 36 butt kickers, 12 squats, 12 jumping jacks, 12 squats, 12 jumping squats, and 12 squats.
Pell: Practiced the footwork for wrap shots.  I DID improve them.  I had to stop because I was too winded. This was unusual because I usually have to stop when I can no longer swing a sword.

WEDNESDAY:
Running: 5 minute warm-up, alternating 1 minute of jogging with 1.5 minutes of walking for 20 minutes, 5 minute cool-down.  I went 1.72 miles in 30 minutes.
Fight Practice: Nordenhal (see blog entry for details)

THURSDAY:
Cardio/Strength: My knees and back were hurting too badly to do this program.  I don’t know if I just stressed them out too much with my program or it was just the fact that it was snowing outside too.
Fight Practice: Rusted Woodlands (see blog entry for details)
Pell: Practiced offside shots to a thrust.  I couldn’t do it for very long because my arms were still sore from the night before.

FRIDAY:
Running: 5 minute warm-up, alternating 1 minute of jogging with 1.5 minutes of walking for 20 minutes, 5 minute cool-down.  I went 1.76 miles in 30 minutes.
Strength: Push-up rows 5 sets of 4 reps on each side with 10lb weights (I had to do knee push-ups)
Dumbbell hang power cleans 5 sets of 8 reps with 10lb weights
Dumbbell squats 5 sets of 8 reps with 20lbs
Backward lunges with dumbbell press-ups 5 sets of 4 reps on each side with 10lb weights
Plank to reach and twist 2 sets of 10 reps per side
Side planks 2 sets of 10 reps per side
Medicine ball chops 2 sets of 20 reps at 6lbs
Pell: I took some advice I had been given a long time ago and went through the trouble of putting on all of my armor to do pell work.

SATURDAY
Day off

SUNDAY
Strength: Dumbbell rows 5 sets of 8 reps on each side with 10lb weights
Push-ups 5 sets of 8 reps  (I had to do knee push-ups)
Burpees (without push-up) 5 sets of 12 reps
Plank to reach and twist 1 set of 10 reps per side
Side planks 1 set of 10 reps per side
Medicine ball chops 1 set of 20 reps at 6lbs

NOTES:  My back and knees hurt pretty constantly throughout the week, as did various muscle groups.  It was hardest on my back and knees.  My knees are still having issues with this extra weight, even though I’ve been at it for about two years now.  My back never went to 100% after surgery and had particular issues with the burpees and side planks.  I only did one set of ab work on Sunday because my back gave out and I collapsed on the floor while attempting my second set of planks to reach and twist.

The foods that I have been eating have also been particularly horrible.  I was eating like CRAZY this week.  It may be because I was hungry from expending more energy or it may be because I quit smoking the week before.  For those of you who didn’t know, I gave up e-cigarettes a few weeks before.  But the withdrawal symptoms were so bad, I smoked regular cigarettes to take the edge off.  Well, last week (January 9th) I finally stopped smoking regular cigarettes as well.  On Sunday, my eating patterns and intense food cravings finally calmed down.  Hopefully I’ll see more improvement with that next week!

~ by Gunnvor on January 19, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
