100 Minutes War 2013

I went down to the 100 Minutes War. It was good. I had a good time. But I really don’t have a lot to say about it. It was nice getting to hang out with a lot of friends before the battle. As promised, Prince Brennan gave me a shorter stick of rattan to play with.

For a interesting twist the battle was held in the woods. I always enjoyed woods battles and this one was no exception. About halfway through my back started to hurt. To be fair, I kinda overworked it the day before carrying an 80lb bag of concrete to my upstairs apartment. During the entirety of the battle, I did not get terribly aggressive. I knew it was only a matter of time before my back started giving me problems, so I didn’t want to overexert it by doing anything stupid. Nonetheless, I still managed to get a few clean kills in. There were a few more that I might have gotten, but since many people were hitting them, it was difficult to tell who actually killed them.

The only moment that really stands out in my mind was my first kill. A fighter from the 404 (Bjorvik, I think) broke through our line and had made it to our backfield. The strange part was that nobody else seemed to notice him. So I turned around and cracked him in the head with my pole arm. I did not die. My back lasted the full 100 minutes — barely. I had issues getting back to where I left my armor bag, but I made it.

Our team won. We were led by Ionius (a.k.a. John the Breeder). The results were closer than I thought they would be.

I stayed for court where some members of Serpentius got (what I saw as) long overdue AoAs, among other orders of business.

It’s funny. With the variety of people I talked to about fighting in the woods, most said the same things. That it was fun, but that the terrain aggravated a previous injury that they had.

All in all, I had fun. Even though I really didn’t get a lot of play in the melees (which I did on purpose). It was also good to see many if my friends that live far away again!

~ by Gunnvor on November 24, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
