Bhakail Fight Practice 10/15/13

I was somewhat in the area of the Bhakail fight practice anyway this Tuesday, so I figured I might as well go. I had really only intended to attend when there were regional practices because the turnout of the last non-regional practice had been so small.  This one was larger.  I was happy to see my squire brothers Joe and Tally there, as well as Omega! There were other fighters there as well.

My first fight was Pat. My defense against him had improved significantly, though I wasn’t able to kill him.  There were a few times when I hit him, but I just didn’t hit him hard enough.  I will have to work on hitting harder.

After that, we did a bear pit, so I fought a bunch of people just once.  Again, my defense was pretty good, except against Omega and Joe.  Joe kept hitting me with a single shot, the one I still have issues blocking.  Omega kept hitting me in my upper shoulder blade.  It was a well-placed shot with the misfortune of landing in that tiny gap between my gorget and my lamallar. I only won one of those fights, against a guy whose name I don’t know.  I was surprised because he seemed to be doing well against a lot of the others and they had all killed me. My footwork seemed to have magically improved. There were a few times where I stepped out of potential leg shots. Once when fighting Tally. Another time when fighting Omega. It was weird because it was not intentional. I didn’t even think about it. I just did it. Omega complimented me on it. Later, when discussing it with a friend, the idea that it was muscle memory was brought forth. While that is possible, the idea that it was muscle memory gives the implication that I knew what I was doing to begin with.

Later in the evening, everyone took out great weapons. I once thought I was decent with a pole arm, but the events of the past few weeks has taught me better. Unless people have just upped their game when they fight me with it, now, I no longer feel as confident about my pole arm abilities as I once did. There were a number of times where I called a shot “good” when fighting pole arm, only to get clocked by a second blow. This happened several times. I’m not sure what happened, but during such an instance, a headache ensued. My temples throbbing, I armored down.

I was talking with Sterling about it and asked him to check the padding in my helmet. While he recommended a different type of padding for the added strips near my ears, he seemed to think it was fine. He asked me when I had last padded it and I couldn’t remember. That doesn’t mean much, just that it has been over a year or so. He suggested it may be because after I called a shot “good” I relaxed both my body and my guard. Because I hadn’t prepared myself for the blow, it somehow did more damage. Omega later suggested something similar. I will have to make a point of not relaxing my guard after a shot has been called “good” in the future.

Sterling also continued to give me some training advice that I really liked. He said to prepare a list of five things you want to work on in a given practice. When you go out to fight someone, ask them to pick a number between one and five and focus on the number they picked. He had no way of knowing this, but I do something similar with my housework and chores. I make a list of what needs to be done. Then I use the random number generator app on my phone to choose what I do next! Before next week, I need to make up a fighting list for myself!

After I armored down, Omega helped me tweak my defense, including shield placement and stance. He did say that my main focus should be offense now. I agreed and silently resolved to practice shots more at home. He also worked with me on a chop. For some reason, that particular movement did not come naturally AT ALL! He even enlisted Joe to come over and help diagnose my problem from another angle (one was watching me attempt to chop from the front, while the other was behind me, trying to figure out how to get me to do it correctly).

On another note, I have (finally) been able to start losing weight. I think I have mentioned before that I have a thyroid problem. All my primary physician did was put me on a medication that stopped me from gaining weight and advised diet and e exercise. I did diet and exercise, to no avail. I started seeing a new doctor who specializes in weight loss in people with thyroid problems. He did a ton of tests to measure many different factors in my blood that may contribute to my lack of weight loss. I recently got the test results back. It was discovered that in addition to my thyroid hormones being off, my testosterone was low, as was my DHEA. For those of you not familiar with them, they are both responsible for weight loss and muscle growth. The doctor increased my thyroid medication and added DHEA and an amino acid to my daily cocktail of pills. So far, it seems to be working well. This week I have noticed a marked improvement in my mood, my energy levels, and even my fighting. I have lost 10lbs this week, (a few weeks ago I thought I had lost 20lbs morebut it just turns out that my scale was just broken). The weight belt I wear to give added kidney protection and hold up my leg armor has been another good gauge of weight loss for me. In April, I could barely buckle it on the last hole. This week, I have been buckling it on the fourth hole in from the end!

I found out that Omega will be attending this practice more in the future. If that’s the case, I may end up continuing to go down there as often as I can!

image

~ by Gunnvor on October 16, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
