Nordenhal Fight Practice 9/18/13

When I woke up Wednesday morning my EVERYTHING hurt!  My upper body was sore from fighting.  My lower body was sore from hiking and running.  My knee still threatened to buckle at every step.  It may have been stupid, but I still was determined to at least attempt to fight that evening.  I took the maximum dose of Naproxin and that took the edge off.

It was a business meeting night, so fighting got started late.  I wanted to be the first one in armor, but someone else beat me to it.  My first fight was Tiberius (the tall). I don’t think I got a single shot in on him. I was (finally) able to avoid that head shot that everyone usually gets me with. He also helped me figure out why I kept getting hit with those deep offside shots at the Bhakail practice.

My next fight was Ivan. I hadn’t realized how static my fight with Tiberius was until I fought Ivan. Tiberius later told me that because he knew about my knee, he had purposely kept his fight static. My knee did not do well moving while fighting. I was able to fight Ivan for a little while. Even though Ivan did not give me his A-game, I still couldn’t lay a stick on him. It had been a while since I had fought another lefty. Ivan noted that I was in a stance for fighting a righty and reminded me of the stance I should use for fighting other lefties. He also showed me a way to practice keeping the shield mobile. My knee couldn’t handle more, so I had to get out of armor early.

But I learned two new things that I should work on, so that was good. I changed the bandage on my knee on Friday. I was surprised to see that there were no signs of healing, not even a scab. The swelling had gone down, but it was still slightly larger than it should be. It looks less bad than it feels. Here’s a pic I took of it on Friday:

image

~ by Gunnvor on September 21, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
