Nordenhal Fight Practice 8/14/15

I didn’t actually get to do a lot of fighting at this fight practice.  There were probably 10-12 fighters attending (I didn’t count them).  We had our monthly business meeting first, which cut into some of the fighting time at the beginning of the night.

First, I fought Deacon.  He asked what I was working on (defending against a specific shot) and really helped me out with it!  I asked him to work with me on half speed and it was STILL too fast!  He also had really perfected the art of not giving any indication of his shots ahead of time.  I couldn’t tell they when they were coming or where they were coming from!  He also included some fakes that were helpful because I kept falling for them.  I started getting annoyed that I wasn’t learning it more quickly and he said something like, “You don’t have to get it all in one day.”  That really struck a chord with me because I really do have a bit of a perfectionist’s attitude with things like that.  I could defend a shot 9 out of 10 times and still feel like I failed because it wasn’t 10 out of 10.  I guess I will need to work on that.

Next he showed me a combo where the first shot should cause my opponent to blind themselves with their shield while I do a wrap shot.  I tried it a few times and seemed to get it.  I hope to work on that combo on the pell some more to truly ‘get’ it!

Then I had to take care of some business (I am our shire’s exchequer) and it held me up for so long that I did not get to fight again.

On the bright side, I have been unintentionally losing weight.  I use a weight belt to hold up my leg armor.  Most of the past year, I had to buckle it on the very last hole.  A few months before Pennsic, it was on the second last hole.  Tonight it was on the fourth hole from the end!

I am considering stopping writing my blog.  It seems that even though I usually run questionable phrasing by other people first, I always end up writing something that is taken the wrong way.  I have no bad intentions, which is probably why it bothers me so much.  I still have (obviously) not made my decision, but I am thinking about it.

Disclaimer: All I have written was true to the best of my memory at the time it was written. My memory can be poor and my point of view can change with time, so please keep that in mind as you read.

~ by Gunnvor on August 15, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
