Pennsic 42 (Part 3)

On Thursday of War Week, there was the Tower Battle.   It was a 90-minute resurrection battle over the control of several flags.  The hay bales were set up to make it vaguely look like a castle with several round towers.  My back was still sore from the Woods Battle, but I went in anyway.  In an early push, someone in front of me was pushed backwards.  He fell onto me and then someone else used me for terrain.  I guess they stepped in a bad place because my back HURT.  After getting some water, I realized that my back would not allow me to continue fighting without significant pain.  They needed someone to sit on the hay bales to hold the flag we were guarding, so I did that.  At the 30-minute, 60-minute, and 90-minute marks they called a “hold” and checked the flags.  I was sitting there each time. Twice the line was pushed back to the flag and I was killed with a spear, but that was the extent of the action I saw during the Tower Battle.

I found this entertaining video clip from the battle: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mvM6NqRfiA&feature=youtube_gdata_player

After the battle I was upset. I was frustrated that a year after the surgery my back was still giving me problems. People I was camping with gave me good, well-intentioned advice. They were right. I should be happy that I was just able to fight this year. Even so, I felt disappointed and frustrated that I could not do more.

On Thursday night I ended up partying more than I intended.  I must have done something right, because the next day my back pain was gone!  I was dead tired and was not armored up in time for muster, but my back felt good! 

Just before we left camp for battle, the First Spear of Serpentius was awarded.  It is a spear given to the person that has really led the way and done well in the battles that year.  I am explaining it poorly, but it is an honor chosen by the former First Spear (who was NKante last year).  Tiberius Nautius (the tall Tiberius) was awarded with it this year.  I hadn’t been paying close attention to his fighting (or anyone else’s for that matter), but everything they said was true and he deserved it.

When I got down to the battle field, I was very surprised to see we were the only ones down there — on both sides.  Eventually, more people turned out, but the numbers were low on both sides of the battle.

The first three battles our unit acted as a reserve unit.  I did not get to swing my stick.  In the first battle I died from a ballista bolt.  In the second and third battles, I ended up standing with four other fighters to claim a completely taken bridge.  Serpentius’s balista team had also been given compliments by various knights on their excellence of shooting.  They really did shoot well with very few shots missing the mark.

In the fourth battle, the fun began.  We ended up on the top bridge against the Tuchux and Dark Talon (I think that was the name of the unit with tabards and shields with a maroon background, a white circle, and a black talon in the circle).   I actually killed a couple of people before I was face-thrusted with a spear.  It was a hard shot, so I am expecting a bruise to form where my chin-strap dug in.

Here’s a link to video of the 4th bridge battle: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SqkDvwztY7Y&feature=youtube_gdata_player

In the fifth battle, I am finally able to claim a “no shit there I was” story.  Here it goes.  No shit, there I was, the last one alive on a bridge against a full contingent of Tuchux.  I ran at them with my pole arm screaming “Ahhhhhh!” at the top of my lungs.  They must have appreciated my balls (so to speak) because I was not piss-pounded, but received perfectly acceptable thrusts to my face and body.  I was told that it was pretty epic to watch!  Tee hee.  I did something epic!

After the fifth battle, I went back to camp and packed up.  Then I said my goodbyes and drove home.  Due to a two-hour nap at a rest area, I made it home safely at about 1:00am.

Disclaimer: All I have written was true to the best of my memory at the time it was written. My memory can be poor and my point of view can change with time, so please keep that in mind as you read.

~ by Gunnvor on August 3, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
