Unofficial Fight Practice

I went to Potsdam, NY to visit my SCA friends and to attend my sorority’s alumnae weekend.  They had scheduled an unofficial fight practice the weekend I was going to be up there.  It was scheduled for 10am-1pm.  It worked out perfectly because it ended exactly in time for me to shower and get to the barbecue at my sorority house.

The site was really neat.  There was a large field and a nice woods.  We fought in the woods to keep cool.  They also had a neat fort built that could be fought around.  They have an event in the fall called Fall Frolic where they do melees around it.  It looked like fun! I am thinking of trying to attend it this year (if I can).  Here’s a picture of the fort:

image

I have been going through some personal issues that have really started to wear on me lately. I have found myself not eating much this past week. I had not eaten at all that day. I know of some fighters who don’t eat before they fight. I had honestly just not felt like eating, but I was still interested in seeing how not eating first would affect my game.

Things got started late.  I’m not sure if people showed up late or they just took their time getting armored up.  My first fight was Snorri.  I remembered when he first started fighting, so I expected to do well against him.  After he killed me a few times I had to remember that I’m essentially starting over as a lefty and that for all intents and purposes, I am a newbie again.  He also got past my defense rather quickly, which DID surprise me.  My defense had been good at previous practices, but not against Snorri.  I had to really focus on the stuff I was supposed to be doing and then I defended better.  I only killed him a few times. Snorri had video taken of our fight. Here’s the link:
http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=0Rb0bQ-Yugc&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D0Rb0bQ-Yugc%26feature%3Dyoutu.be

I got winded before my arms got tired.  I thought of that a good thing.  It means that my arms built up enough strength to handle it.  For me, it seems easier to build up stamina and endurance than it does arm strength.  When I went to take my helmet off, one of my earrings got caught.  Thankfully, someone helped me before I ripped it out of my ear.  It had never been a problem before, but I will not be wearing earrings to fight again. I also noticed that fighting without eating first gave me a rush similar to adrenaline. I also noticed that I felt more lazy about actually getting out there to fight.

It took a while for me to get un-winded.  My next fight was Gwendolyn, a female fighter from Ealdormere.  We seem to be in a very similar place, fighting-wise.  We both had several well-placed shots that were quite light.  She did better than I did at generating power for shots that WERE good.  It was interesting fighting her because she was most comfortable with her “in-game” and I was most comfortable at a further range away.   She seemed like “good people” and I wished that she lived closer so we could hang out and fight each other more. 

Even though the fight practice was clearly going on later than they had planned, I had to leave early to get to my sorority house.  I realized that again, I had gotten winded before my arms were sore.  I was happy that I was at least at the point where I can fight two people without muscle soreness!  I’ll take whatever I can get in the way of improvement!

As far as not eating before I fight, it was an interesting experiment, but I probably won’t repeat it intentionally. Most fight practices are in the evening and I would imagine that I’d need food to fuel myself for the endurance required for melees.

Disclaimer: All I have written was true to the best of my memory at the time it was written. My memory can be poor and my point of view can change with time, so please keep that in mind as you read.

~ by Gunnvor on July 14, 2013.

One Response to “Unofficial Fight Practice”

  1. “As far as not eating before I fight, it was an interesting experiment, but I probably won’t repeat it intentionally.”

    I had to experiment to discover my best “fighting foods”–eating bread-style carbs within 4 hours of fighting makes me sluggish. I have to stick with fruit and protein. My fighting foods are roast beef and OJ. I’m alert and energized, and have staying power.

    I hadn’t seen your blog before. Good fortune in your labors!

    Vesta
    Summits, An Tir

Leave a Reply

 
