Northern Region War Camp 2013

This was the first year I camped at this event.  Usually I am very worn out after a day of fighting so in past years my drive home often border on unsafe driving.

The first thing I did was fight in the Claude the Frank tourney.  It was for great weapons only.  My first fight was Sir Thomas.  He took my right arm and then hit me in the head quite lightly.  He told me that he didn’t want to hit me too hard.  I reported to the MOL and found out that the fight was a buy.

My second fight was, amusingly enough, my husband.  He was using a warhammer that has lovingly been referred to as “wack-a-mole”.  We also had an audience of people who were either amused at the prospect or just knew how rarely we fight each other.  The first thing he did was ask me if I wanted him to fight me seriously.  Uh, yeah, I wanted him to fight me seriously!  We fought for a little while and I came very close to thrusting him in the face twice.  Eventually, he nailed me with his warhammer (pun intended).  In a tone of surprise, he commented how much better I had gotten with a pole arm.  The guys watching our fight later told me that I was the favorite to win.  I wished they were right!

My third fight was against someone named Matthew.  I don’t remember much of it, so he must have killed me pretty quickly.  Afterwards I ran into Sir Yosh.  I must have fought pretty badly because he said something about needing to build up my strength.  He was right, of course.  I AM quite weak.

The melees were set up so that our side consisted of Serpentius, Bloodguard, and the 3rd division of the Northern Army.  Serpentius and Bloodguard worked together in a manner that seemed somewhat separated from the 3rd division.  The first field battle was very disappointing for me.  I hit a guy hard enough to move his head sideways, but he didn’t take the shot.  Then he turned around and tried to kill me.  He didn’t succeed, but managed to distract me while I was surrounded and dispatched of.

The remaining field battles were kind of a blur.  I just remember nobody taking my shots.  I guess I will have to work on hitting people harder with a pole arm!  I remember my last two deaths.  I was hit on the right hip with a pole arm — both times.  It might have even been the same guy throwing the shot.  After the second time, I instinctively knew I had to go sit down, but had no idea why.  After sitting out for a while, I realized that I had been hit on my left thumb and my right elbow.  I immediately felt like a jerk because I didn’t call the elbow shot good.  I couldn’t even recall when I had been hit in the elbow.  I immediately resolved to be more careful about calling shots.  I have no desire to be known as a “rhino”.  I also realized that my back was hurting in a not normal way.  I had issues walking because of my back pain.  I waited to see if it would go away.  It didn’t, so I armored down.

I was REALLY angry.  It just seemed like there is ALWAYS something preventing me from fighting.  I keep getting injured.  My left arm is too weak to throw many shots. My right arm is too weak to hold the shield for very long.  I REALLY wanted to be out there fighting. All kinds of self-depricating thoughts kept cycling through my head. I felt miserable.

I tried to be sociable to others for the rest of the day, but I feel like I failed.  I wished that my passion in the SCA was embroidery.  At least I am naturally pretty good at that.  All of these damaging thoughts entered my mind and festered there, destroying my mood.

There were three things that totally helped cheer me up.  One was a conversation with JP where we reminisced about heavy fighting together.  He complimented my shield work in melee because I knew just how to work together with a spear.  I really enjoyed talking to him!  I also fully intend to take his advice of taking care of myself and avoiding injury.

The second thing that cheered me up was being told of an overheard compliment of my embroidery.  The third thing that cheered me up, I can’t share.  I will say that it made me make a very girly noise that was quite uncharacteristic for me (you know who you are)!

Oh, and I forgot to mention congratulations to the rest of my squire brothers who attended. Ivan, Ionnes, Tiberius, and Joe all made the Unbelted Champions team!

Disclaimer: All I have written was true to the best of my memory at the time it was written. My memory can be poor and my point of view can change with time, so please keep that in mind as you read.

~ by Gunnvor on July 7, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
