Bhakail Regional Practice

I felt like this was the night of excuses.  Due to the weather, my knee and back had been hurting all day.  Pain in my back was usual for a day of rain. Then my armor went on and the pain increased.

My first fight was someone who introduced himself as Matt. My defense was not nearly as good as the last time I fought, for some reason. I got one good shot in with a stab, but he killed me pretty regularly. At one point, he had taken my legs off and he kept trying to walk around me in a circle. That was when I figured out he was a newbie. I was just about to say something to him when Sterling came over and explained to him why we don’t circle around someone who had been legged. After a too-short period of time, my right arm could no longer hold up my shield and I took a break.   

I walked back to my stuff and Nkante was nearby armoring up. He said I should have taken the guy I was fighting apart and asked what had happened. I told him I had recently switched to lefty and it’s like I’m a newbie all over again. While we were chatting, I overheard Sterling advising Matt on how to improve. I heard the phrase, “…and if she was just a little bit faster she would have….” He was right. I’m not fast. I am working on it, but it is taking awhile.

My second fight was against Mord. When we first stood in guard opposite each other, he kept his sword down pointed to the ground. With my shield where it was, I couldn’t see his sword. I fought the urge to move my shield in order to see his sword. Eventually, he brought the sword up to where I could see it. A lot of our fights consisted of waiting for the other person to strike first. I managed to wait for him to strike first the first few times. Then my shield arm started getting sore and I stopped waiting and struck first. He gave me an interesting piece of advice.  He said when people are messing with your head you attack them.  I responded by telling him that he hadn’t been messing with me head. Maybe he didn’t catch my meaning, but I didn’t feel like I was being messed with. My shield arm soreness ended our fight rather quickly. He suggested I do shield lifts. I asked him what they were and he explained. It sounded like a good idea.

I had brought my pole arm, but I didn’t want to use it because I hadn’t practiced the new stance I was taught a few weeks ago and didn’t feel like being beaten on. I socialized the rest of the night. I met several people who I had known on facebook and chatted with them while everyone else continued fighting.

It was one of those nights where there wasn’t much I could have done differently, but still felt like a useless, lazy, lump of a squire. Even as I type this I can hear my master-at-arms response to that statement in my head. “At least you got out there.” Or maybe “I’ll only have a problem with it when you stop trying.” I suppose we’re always the hardest on ourselves. I know I am.

image

Disclaimer: All I have written was true to the best of my memory at the time it was written. My memory can be poor and my point of view can change with time, so please keep that in mind as you read.

~ by Gunnvor on July 3, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
